What is power play in cricket?


The time between innings in the game of cricket?

The original rules of ODIs stated that during the first 15 overs, only two fielders should be allowed outside a 30-metre circle around the wicket.

This meant that attacking batsman were likely to score runs quickly in the first 15 overs, but would become more watchful at the end of the spell.

In an effort to keep the game more exciting during the middle overs, the 15 over block with fielding restrictions at the beginning of the innings is reduced to 10, and thereafter, the captain of the fielding side has to decide when to bring his fielders in again for two further blocks of 5 overs, at any time he likes.

These 5 over spells are called Powerplay 2 and Powerplay 3. (Powerplay 1 is the first block of 10).

Indoor cricket nets in New York City area ?

also only 2 players can be in the boundary area (outside the inner circle) during power play and 2 fielders have to be in a catching position.

WHO has scored maximus Sixes in any WorldCup?

there is 30 yards circle around the pitch , in the power play only two players are allowed to stay outside of the circle to field. other players are not allowed to cross that circle when baller balls.
there are three power play in cricket.
1. first power play
2. second power play
3. third power play
first power play is necessary and which lasts for first 10 overs of the inning.
second and the third power plays are of 5 overs each which a fielding teams caption choose whenever he wants at any time during his 50 overs period.

Anyone know how to bowl topspin &the flipper?Also tell me what a zooter is.?

what is powerplay in the game of cricket

Is cricketer Yuvaraj singh really a star?

A Powerplay is a new rule concerning fielding restrictions in one-day international (ODI) cricket. In the past, there was a 15-over period at the start of an innings when only two fielders were allowed outside the 30-yard circle. This meant that attacking batsmen were likely to score runs quickly in the first 15 overs, but would become more watchful after the end of the spell.

In an effort to keep the game more exciting during the middle overs, this rule was amended to apply only to the first 10 overs of every innings, but also in two blocks of five overs, Powerplays, which will be used at the discretion of the fielding captain.

1. The first block of 10 overs of an innings is known as Powerplay One. The fielding restrictions during this period are exactly the same as per the old ODI rules with only two players being allowed to stand outside the 30-yard circle and two fielders required to be placed in close catching position.
2. The first block of five overs chosen at the fielding captain's discretion is known as Powerplay Two. The fielding captain has to decide at which point he wishes to implement this rule. He can only implement it at the beginning of an over, provided he informs the umpire [1]. Again, only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. However there is no mandatory number of close catchers under this power play.
3. The second block of five overs, with identical parameters to Powerplay Two, is known as Powerplay Three.
4. When the fielding side's captain informs the umpire that he wishes to enact a powerplay the official will signal as such by moving his arm in a circular motion.
5. Should the fielding captain choose not to exercise his discretion, the remaining powerplays will automatically commence at the latest available point in the innings (i.e. at the start of the 41st and the 46th overs in an uninterrupted innings).

The Powerplay was intended to add to the excitement in ODI cricket. If the batting team has got off to a very quick start, the fielding captain is likely to choose to delay Powerplay 2 and 3, and instead spread out the field to stem the flow of runs. Powerplays may then be taken when an attacking batsman is out, or when the run rate has been reduced. Otherwise, all 20 Powerplay overs are likely to be taken at the start of the batting team's innings.

The rule was first encountered in the One-day International between England and Australia on 7 July 2005 and was then finalised after a trial period in 2006, unlike the supersub rule which was scrapped after being pioneered at the same time. The rule is included as part of the playing conditions for the 2007 Cricket World Cup.

More Questions & Answers...
  • 1 to 10, where does srilanka in winning the world cup?
  • Which popular Indian cricketer has the surname 'Nikhanj'?
  • Can some 1 tell me where i can watch free cricker online plzzzzzzzzz?
  • Which of the following Cricketer was out for handling the ball in a world cup match?
  • I hope the World Cricket Team has proved who are the champs?
  • Who do you support . Australia... OK ,then tell us if you dare...?
  • I think Michael Vaughan should be called Humpty Dumpty cos he is always being put back together again. Agree?
  • Do coaches place enough emphasis on fielding, compare the likes of australia and S.Africa to Pakistan and W.I?
  • Was it right to drop Irfan Pathan??
  • Will someone please advise the broadcasting frequency of Set Max television station?
  • Glares competition?

    This article contents is create by this website user, Sports1234.com doesn't promise its accuracy.
    Copyright 2007-2009 Sports1234.com     Contact us    Terms of Use